

City of Racine

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Common Council

Alder Jeff Coe
Alder Mollie Jones
Alder Olivia Turquoise-Davis
Alder David Maack
Alder Melissa Kaprelian
Alder Sandy Weidner
Alder Maurice Horton
Alder Marcus West
Alder Terry McCarthy
Alder Sam Peete
Alder Mary Land
Alder Henry Perez
Alder Renee Kelly
Alder Alicia Jarrett
Alder Cory Sebastian

Tuesday, April 16, 2024 6:00 PM City Hall, Room 205

Incoming Council

A. Call To Order

PRESENT: 14 - Coe, Jones, Turquoise-Davis, Maack, Kaprelian, Weidner, Horton, West,

McCarthy, Peete, Perez, Kelly, Jarrett and Sebastian

EXCUSED: 1 - Land

B. Pledge of Allegiance To The Flag

Mayor Mason led the council in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

C. Oath of Office Alders

D. Election of Council President

Mayor Mason presided over the Council for the vote for Council President.

Alder Sebastian made a motion to nominate Alder McCarthy for Council President, Seconded by Alder Peete.

Alder Kaprelian made a motion to nominate Alder Coe for Council President, Seconded by Alder Jarrett.

Mayor Mason closed the nomination for Council President.

Mayor Mason opened the floor to elect a new Council President. The Results of election is as follows:

Alder McCarthy: 8 - Jones, Davis, Horton, West, McCarthy, Peete, Jarrett, Sebastian

City of Racine Page 1

Alder Coe: 6 - Coe, Maack, Kaprelian, Weidner, Perez, Kelly

Excused: Alder Land

Alder McCarthy was elected Council President.

E. Standing Committee Appointments

The Committee appointments are as follows:

Finance and Personnel: Alder West, Alder Horton, Alder Davis, Alder Land, and Alder McCarthy

Public Works and Services: Alder Jones, Alder Jarrett, Alder Sebastian, Alder Maack, and Alder Perez

Public Safety and Licensing: Alder Peete, Alder Kaprelian, Alder Coe, Alder Kelly, and Alder Weidner

Executive Committee: Mayor Mason, Alder West, Alder Jones, Alder Peete, Alder Land and Alder McCarthy

F. Communications

<u>0348-24</u> **Subject:** Communication sponsored by Mayor Mason appointing the following:

Affirmative Action/Human Rights Commission

Carmen Lassiter Ayers for a term ending April 30, 2027 Alder Sam Peete for a term expiring April 14, 2025 Alder Alicia Jarrett for a term expiring April 14, 2025

Board of Harbor Commissioners

Alder David Maack for term ending April 20, 2026 Alder Cory Sebastian for a term expiring April 14, 2025 James R. Poplawski for a term ending April 30, 2027 Sean C. Fox for a term ending April 30, 2027 Lynn Monroe for a term ending April 30, 2027

Board of Health

Sarah Fouse to fill the nurse role for a term ending April 30, 2027 John Brennan to fill the physician role for a term ending April 30, 2027 Betty Brown for a term ending April 30, 2027

Zoo Board

Alder David Maack for term ending April 20, 2026 Alder Cory Sebastian for a term ending April 14, 2025

<u>Douglas Avenue Business Improvement District</u>

Alder David Maack for a term ending April 14, 2025

Board of Parks, Recreation, and Cultural Services

Keith Hemming for a term ending April 18, 2027 Novella Velasquez for a term ending April 18, 2027

Community Development Authority

QA Shakoor for a term ending April 30, 2025 Alder Marcus West for a term ending April 14, 2025 Napoleon Hardy for a term ending April 30, 2027 Connie Cobb Madsen for a term ending April 30, 2027

Due Process Board

Janet Gill Hernandez for a term ending April 30, 2027 Kimberly J. Payne for a term ending April 30, 2027 Kevin Coey as the Tavern League Representative for a term ending April 30, 2027

Planning, Heritage, and Design Committee

Christina Hefel for a term ending April 30, 2027 Keith M. Kohlman for a term ending April 30, 2027 Alder Peete for a term ending April 14, 2025 Mollie Jones a term ending April 14, 2025

Community Development Block Grant Advisory Board

Charles Helm for a term ending April 30, 2027

Library Board

Walter Williams for a term ending April 14, 2025

Transit Commission

Alder Horton for a term ending April 14, 2025

Waterworks Commission

Alder Jones for a term ending April 14, 2025 Jens Jorgensen for a term ending September 30, 2027

Wastewater Commission

Alder Jones for a term ending April 14, 2025 Jens Jorgensen for a term ending September 30, 2027

Zoning Board of Appeals

Alder Peete for a term ending April 14, 2025 Alder Jones for a term ending April 14, 2025

A motion was made Alder McCarthy, seconded by Alder Jones, that this

Communication be Approved. The motion Passed by the following vote:

AYES: 13 - Coe, Jones, Turquoise-Davis, Maack, Kaprelian, Horton, West, McCarthy,

Peete, Perez, Kelly, Jarrett and Sebastian

NOES: 1 - Weidner

EXCUSED: 1 - Land

G. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 6:31 pm by Alder West.

The next scheduled meeting of the Committee Council is Tuesday, May 7, 2024

ATTEST: TARA MCMENAMIN CITY CLERK

City of Racine Page 4