

City of Racine

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Common Council

Alder Malik Frazier
Alder Tyler Townsend
Alder Olivia Turquoise-Davis
Alder David Maack
Alder Jens Jorgensen
Alder Sandy Weidner
Alder Maurice Horton
Alder Cinthia Esqueda
Alder Grace Allen
Alder Sam Peete
Alder Mary Land
Alder Henry Perez
Alder Renee Kelly
Alder Marlo Harmon
Alder Nathan Pabon

Tuesday, April 15, 2025 6:00 PM City Hall, Room 205

New Council

A. Call to Order

PRESENT: 15 - Frazier, Townsend, Turquoise-Davis, Maack, Jorgensen, Weidner, Horton, Esqueda, Allen, Peete, Land, Perez, Kelly, Harmon and Pabon

B. Pledge of Allegiance To The Flag

Mayor Mason led the council in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

C. Oath of Office Incoming Alders

D. Election of Council President and Vice President

Mayor Mason presided over the Council for the vote for Council President.

Alder Land made a motion to nominate Alder Horton for Council President.

Alder Kelly made a motion to nominate Alder Maack for Council President.

Mayor Mason closed the nomination for Council President.

Mayor Mason opened the floor to elect a new Council President. The Results of election is as follows:

Alder Horton: 8 - Frazier, Jorgensen, Horton, Allen, Peete, Land, Harmon, Pabon

Alder Maack: 7 - Townsend, Davis, Maack, Weidner, Esqueda, Perez, Kelly

City of Racine Page 1

Alder Horton was elected Council President.

Mayor Mason presided over the Council for the vote for Council Vice - President.

Alder Peete made a motion to nominate Alder Harmon for Council Vice - President.

Alder Perez made a motion to nominate Alder Maack for Council Vice - President. Maack declined the nomination and nominated Alder Davis for Council Vice -President.

Mayor Mason closed the nomination for Council President.

Mayor Mason opened the floor to elect a new Council Vice - President. The Results of election is as follows:

Alder Harmon: 8 - Frazier, Jorgensen, Horton, Allen, Peete, Land, Harmon, Pabon

Alder Davis: 7 - Townsend, Davis, Maack, Weidner, Esqueda, Perez, Kelly

Alder Harmon was elected Council Vice - President.

PRESENT: 15 - Frazier, Townsend, Turquoise-Davis, Maack, Jorgensen, Weidner, Horton, Esqueda, Allen, Peete, Land, Perez, Kelly, Harmon and Pabon

E. Standing Committee Appointments

The Committee appointments are as follows:

Finance and Personnel: Alder Land, Alder Jorgensen, Alder Allen, Alder Townsend, and Alder Horton

Public Works and Services: Alder Harmon, Alder Davis, Alder Maack, Alder Perez, and Alder Esqueda

Public Safety and Licensing: Alder Peete, Alder Frazier, Alder Pabon, Alder Weidner, and Alder Kellv

F. Communications

O412-25 Subject: Communication sponsored by Mayor Mason appointing the following:

Affirmative Action and Human Rights Commission

Alder Peete in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026 Alder Harmon in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026

Roy Carter for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Don Nielsen in the ADA member position, for a term expiring April 30,

2028

Board of Ethics

Jon Campion for a term expiring April 30, 2029 Cory Sebastian for a term expiring April 30, 2031

Board of Health

Alder Davis in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027 Alder Horton in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026 Laura Martinez in the position of health care professional, for a term expiring April 30, 2027

Dr. Jaya Phookan in the position of health care professional, for a term expiring April 30, 2027

Board of Parks, Recreation, & Cultural Services

Alder Allen in the position of RUSD appointee, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Alder Horton in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026 Alder Land in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027 Barbara Sims for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Jeffrey Banks for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Jovanna Lue for a term expiring April 30, 2028

Board of Review

Natalie Chulew for a term expiring March 6, 2029
Tara McMenamin in the position of City Clerk, as required by State
Statute, for a term expiring April 30, 2030
Jennifer Bass for a term expiring March 7, 2028

Community Development Authority

Jen Adamski for a term expiring April 30, 2028 QA Shakoor in the position of Chair, for a term expiring April 30, 2026 Alder Esqueda in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026

Community Development Block Grant Advisory Board

Sherrie Tussler for a term expiring April 30, 2028

Alder - CC President

Alder - Finance & Personnel Chair

Alder - Public Works and Services Chair

Alder - Public Safety & Licensing

Downtown Business Improvement District Board

Alder Frazier in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Douglas Avenue Business Improvement District Board

Alder Pabon in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Due Process Board

Brian O'Connell for a term expiring April 30, 2026

Library Board

Alder Allen in the position of resident, for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Brian O'Connell in the position of RUSD appointee, for a term expiring April 30, 2028

Alberto Huerta for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Carl Hubbard for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Dreams Ramirez for a term expiring April 30, 2028

Planning Heritage & Design

Alder Peete in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026

Police and Fire Commission

Carl Hubbard for a term expiring April 30, 2030 Connie Cobb Madsen for a term expiring April 30, 2028

Transit Commission

Alder Horton in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026 Dr. Alyson Weiss for a term expiring April 30, 2028 Alder Pabon in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Uptown Business Improvement District

Alder Davis in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Wastewater

Alder Jorgensen in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Alder Harmon in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026

Nick Barootian for a term expiring September 30, 2029

Water Commission

Alder Jorgensen in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 19, 2027

Alder Harmon in the position of Alder, for a term expiring April 20, 2026

Nick Barootian September 30, 2029

Zoning Board of Appeals

Jim Chambers for a term expiring April 30, 2027

Zoo Board

Alder Maack for a term expiring April 20, 2026 Alder Jorgensen for a term expiring April 19, 2027

A motion was by Alder Horton and seconded by Alder Harmon that this Communication be Approved as Presented. The motion was APPROVED on a Voice Vote in Consent.

G. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 6:28 pm by Alder Horton.

The next scheduled meeting of the Committee Council is Tuesday, May 6, 2025

ATTEST: TARA MCMENAMIN

CITY CLERK

City of Racine Page 5