

### **City of Racine**

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

# Meeting Report Committee of the Whole

President Jeff Coe, Alderman Q.A. Shakoor, II, Alderman Michael Shields, Alderman James T. Spangenberg, Alderman Sandy Weidner, Alderman Jim Kaplan, Alderman David L. Maack, Alderman Gregory Helding, Alderman Raymond DeHahn, Alderman Aron Wisneski, Alderman Ronald D. Hart, Alderman Robert Mozol, Alderman Dennis Wiser, Alderman Eric Marcus

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

6:00 PM

City Hall, Room 205

#### 10-5589

Subject: Submittal of the Report of the Finance Committee of the Racine Waterworks Commission Regarding Year 2011 Water Utility Operation and Maintenance Budget and the 2011-2015 Capital Improvements Budget Recommending Adoption

Recommendation of the Racine Waterworks Commission of 9-28-10: To adopt. Refer to the Committee of the Whole.

Recommendation of the Committee of the Whole on 11-10-2010: The Item be approved.

Fiscal Note: copies of the 2011 Water Utility Operation and Maintenance Budget and the 2011-2015 Capital Improvements Budget, along with their supporting exhibits, are in file in the Office of the Water Utility General Manager.

#### **Recommended For Approval**

#### <u>10-5596</u>

Subject: Submittal of the Report of the Finance Committee of the Racine Wastewater Commission Regarding Year 2011 Wastewater Utility Operation and Maintenance Budget and the 2011-2015 Capital Improvements Budget Recommending Adoption

Recommendation of the Racine Wastewater Commission of 9-28-10: To adopt. Refer to the Committee of the Whole.

Recommendation of the Committee of the Whole on 11-10-2010: The Item be approved.

Fiscal Note: copies of the 2011 Wastewater Utility Operation and Maintenance Budget and the 2011-2015 Capital Improvements Budget, along with their supporting exhibits, are on file in the Office of the Wastewater Utility General Manager.

#### **Recommended For Approval**

#### 10-5635

Subject: Submittal of 2011 Sewer Service Rates

Recommendation of the Racine Wastewater Commission of 9-28-10: To adopt. Refer to the Committee of the Whole.

Recommendation of the Committee of the Whole on 11-10-2010: The Item be approved.

Fiscal Note: Sewer rates for 2011 have been prepared in accordance with the Racine Area Intergovernmental Sanitar Sewer Service, Revenue-Sharing,

City of Racine Page 1

Cooperation and Settlement Agreement dated April 25, 2002.

#### **Recommended For Approval**

#### 10-5688

Subject: Communication from Mayor Dickert submitting the 2011 proposed budgets for the General Fund, Special Revenue Funds, Debt Service, Enterprise Funds, Utilities, and Internal Service Funds.

Recommended: that the Item be approved.

Fiscal Note: The adopted operating budget results in a tax levy of \$45,987,643 and a tax rate of \$11.4829 based on a total assessed value of taxable general property of \$4,004,891,800. The 2011 General Obligation Debt will provide \$8,325,500 in funding for budgeted Capital Projects. Copies of these budgets and supporting documentation are on file in the Office of the Finance Director.

## A motion was madethat this be Recommended For Approval. The motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: 10 - James T. Spangenberg, Sandy Weidner, Jim Kaplan, David L. Maack, Q.A. Shakoor, II, Gregory Helding, Raymond DeHahn, Aron Wisneski, Ronald D. Hart and Dennis Wiser

NOES: 4 - Michael Shields, Robert Mozol, Terry McCarthy and Eric Marcus

NON VOTING: 1 - Jeff Coe

#### 10-5689

Subject: Communication from Mayor Dickert submitting the 2011-2015 proposed Capital Improvement Plan.

Recommended: that the Item be accepted.

Fiscal Note: The Capital Improvement Plan does not commit the City to any actual projects or funding sources. Current year projects amount to \$36,043,425 and call for \$8,325,000 from General Obligation Debt and \$3,435,000 from Utility Revenue Bonds.

### A motion was madethat this be Recommended For Approval. The motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: 10 - James T. Spangenberg, Sandy Weidner, Jim Kaplan, David L. Maack, Q.A. Shakoor, II, Gregory Helding, Raymond DeHahn, Aron Wisneski, Ronald D. Hart and Dennis Wiser

NOES: 4 - Michael Shields, Robert Mozol, Terry McCarthy and Eric Marcus

NON VOTING: 1 - Jeff Coe