Proposed Resolution

Community Development Committee Membership

Whereas, the Community Development Committee was created by Resolution No. 2912 of November 6, 1974; and

Whereas, the membership of the committee was established most recently by Resolution No. 4541-A of December 18, 1990, as amended by Resolution 6393 of March 1, 2005.

Resolved, that Resolution 4541-A is rescinded.

Further Resolved, that the membership of the Community Development Committee shall be as follows:

Mayor (Chairman), the President of the Common Council, the Chairsmen of the three Common Council standing committees, two aldermen (to be rotated yearly), the Director of City Development, three Department Heads to be selected and to serve in the manner stated below, and five electors who by reason of their places of residence, occupations, or community activities have special interest in the application of community development Block Grant funds to be selected in the manner stated below. Additionally, The Director of City Development, shall serve as the Committee Secretary.

Further Resolved, that all members of the Committee be appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Council.

Further resolved, that the first Department Head appointed to the Committee shall serve one year only, the seconded Department Head appointed to the Committee shall serve two years, and the third Department Head appointed to the Committee shall serve three years. All successors to the originally appointed Department Heads shall serve three years. No Department Head appointed to the Committee may serve two consecutive terms on the Committee.

Further Resolved, that the first citizen member will serve for one year. The next two citizen members will serve for two years. The last two citizen members will serve for three years. All successors will be appointed for three years. No citizen member appointed to the Committee may serve two consecutive terms.

Further Resolved, that the members can vote only in person at duly convened Committee meetings. Voting by proxy or other substitute is not permitted.

Further Resolved, that the aldermen who are not appointed members of the committee are welcome at the committee meetings and shall be given the opportunity to participate in the discussions and deliberations of the committee, except voting. The Secretary shall provide the same communications and other background materials to all aldermen as are provided to the appointed committee members.

Fiscal Note: Removing department heads from the membership of the committee will reduce its size from 16 members to 12. The reduction provides small savings in administrative costs and frees time for the department heads for other tasks.