Ordinance 0013-23 – Listing of Parks within the City of Racine

An ordinance to create Chapter 70, Article III, Division 1, Section 70-75 of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin.

The Common Council of the City of Racine, Wisconsin, do ordain as follows:

<u>Part 1</u>: Chapter 70, Article III, Division 1, Section 70-75 of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine is created to state as follows:

Sec. 70-75. – Definitions. The following words, terms, and phrases, when used in this article, shall have the following meanings ascribed to them, except where the context clearly indicates a different meaning:

Park means and includes any and all of the following places located at the following addresses, respectively, within the geographical boundaries of the City of Racine: 6th Street Park North (1300 W. 6th St.); 6th Street Park South (REC Center) (1301 W. 6th St.); Barbee Park (215 N. Memorial); Bi-Centennial Gardens (700 6th St.); Brose Park (104 Luedtke Ave.); Builders Park (1632 Prospect St.); Carlson Park (3800 N. Main St.); Carre-Hogle (1645 Main St.); Case Harmon Park (2724 Hamilton Ave.); Cedar Bend Park (33 McKinley Ave.); Clayton Park (1843 Clayton Ave.); Colbert Park (519 Dodge St.); Colonial Park (2300 West High St.); Crosswalk Park (317 Main St.); DeKoven Woods (525 De Koven Ave.); Dodge Park (2001 Wisconsin Ave.); Douglas Park (2221 Douglas Ave.); Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Plaza (909 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Dr), Erskine Park (2800 Washington Ave.); Franklin Park (900 11th St.); Fuller Park (2207 Gilson St.); Gaslight Pointe (25 Gaslight Point); Graceland Cemetery (3547 Osborne Blvd.); Grand Park (1651 Grand Ave.); Greencrest Park (3234 Drexel Ave.); Hagerer Park (708 Hagerer St.); Hamilton Park (1732 Howe St.); Hantschel Park (5400 Byrd Ave.); Harris Plaza (605 Grand Ave.); Harvey Park (441 Blaine Ave.); Horlick Athletic Field (1648 N. Memorial Dr.); Humble Park (2218 Blaine Ave.); Island Park (1700 Liberty St.); Jay-Eye-See Park (2004 Jay-Eye-See Ave.); Johnson Park Dog Run (4729 Hwy. 38); Johnson Park & Golf Course (6200 Northwestern Ave.); John Thompson Park (1 Main St.); Jonas Park (1701 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Dr.); Jones Park (1336 Hampden Pl.); Lakeview Park (201 Goold St.); Laurel Clark Fountain (Splash Pad) (559 Main St.); Lee Park (1926 Glen St.); Lincoln Park (2200 Domanik Dr.); Lockwood Park (4300 Graceland Blvd.); Maple Grove Park (320 West Blvd.); Marino Park (1949 Albert St.); Marquette Park (1425 Marquette St.); Mary Elle Helgren Johnson Preserve (2600 Spring St.); Mat Matson Park (1110 South St.); Monument Square (502 Main St.); Mound Cemetery (1147 West Blvd.); N. Owen Davies Park (1700 West Blvd.); North Beach (1501 Michigan Blvd.); Olsen Prairie (3444 South Memorial Dr.); Park Place (559 Main St.); Parker Park (1020 Parker Ave.); Pershing Park (800 Pershing Dr.); Pierce Woods Park (3616 Pierce Blvd.); Pugh/Rooney Recreational Area (101 Reichert Ct.); Racine Zoological Gardens (2131 N. Main St.); Randolph Park (533 Randolph St.); Reservoir Park (4400 Maryland Ave.); Riverside Park (110 Riverside Dr.); Robert Heck Park (2914 Donna Ave.); Roosevelt Park (601 Caron Butler Dr.); Sam Azarian Overlook (404 Water St.); Sam Myers Park (1 11th St.); Shoop Park Golf Course (4510 Lighthouse Dr.); Simonson Park (1423 Main St.); Solbraa Park (3825 16th St.); Springvale East Park (2736 Eisenhower Dr.); Springvale West Park (2731 Eisenhower Dr.); State-Hamilton Park (1900 State St.); Veterans Plaza (area south of 72 7th St. and north of 75 7th St.); Vidian-Cheska Park (3810 Carter St.); Wallis Park (2008 Gillen St.); Washington Bowl Park (1330 Valley Dr.); Washington Park Golf Course (2801 12th St.); Wellington Park (2813 Wellington Dr.); West Park (901 Park St.); Wustum Museum (2519 Northwestern Ave.).

<u>Part 2</u>: This ordinance shall take effect upon passage by a majority vote of the members-elect of the City of Racine Common Council and publication or posting as required by law.

Fiscal Note: N/A

Pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes section 62.09(8)(c), the mayor shall have the veto power as to all acts of the common council, except such as to which it is expressly or by necessary implication otherwise provided. All such acts shall be submitted to the mayor by the clerk and shall be in force upon approval evidenced by the mayor's signature, or upon failing to approve or disapprove within five days, which fact shall be certified thereon by the clerk. If the mayor disapproves the mayor's objections shall be filed with the clerk, who shall present them to the council at its next meeting. A two—thirds vote of all the members of the council shall then make the act effective notwithstanding the objections of the mayor.