Ordinance 0013-19 - Transit Commission

An ordinance to amend Chapter 2, Article III, Division 10, of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin.

WHEREAS, on October 16, 2018, the City of Racine Common Council approved an Intergovernmental Agreement Between the City of Racine, Racine Water Utility and Village of Mt. Pleasant - Village of Mt. Pleasant Tax Increment District Number 5 and Impacts on Public Services; and

WHEREAS, in part, such Intergovernmental Agreement called for the City to reconstitute the Transit Commission structure to allow for nine Commission members, with two being Village appointees;

NOW THEREFORE, it being appropriate that the City of Racine Code of Ordinances be amended to carry such agreement into effect, the Common Council of the City of Racine, Wisconsin, do ordain as follows:

<u>Part 1</u>: Amend Chapter 2, Article III, Division 10, of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin, as follows:

Amend the title of Division 10 by deleting the words "and parking."

<u>Part 2</u>: Repeal and recreate Chapter 2, Article III, Division 10, Section 2-291, of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin, as follows:

- (a) There is hereby created a transit commission for the maintenance and operation of a comprehensive unified local transportation system within the meaning of, pursuant to the authority of, and subject to, Wis. Stat. § 66.1021. The transit commission shall consist of nine commissioners. Included in the membership of the transit commission shall be six City of Racine citizen members, one City of Racine alderman elected by the common council, and two members appointed by the Village of Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin. The City of Racine citizen members of the commission shall be appointed by the mayor, subject to the confirmation of the common council; vacancies shall be filled in the same manner.
- (b) The first members of the transit commission shall be appointed for staggered three—year terms. The term of office of each member appointed after the first members of the transit commission shall be three years. The members of the transit commission shall be appointed effective the first day of June of the year of appointment.

<u>Part 3</u>: This ordinance shall take effect upon passage by a majority vote of the Common Council and publication or posting as required by law.

Fiscal Note: N/A