Ordinance 0008-20 - Transit Commission

An ordinance to amend Chapter 2, Article III, Division 10, of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin.

Part 1: Repeal and recreate Chapter 2, Article III, Division 10, Section 2-291, of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin, as follows:

Sec. 2-291. - Created; composition.

- (a) There is hereby created a transit commission for the maintenance and operation of a comprehensive unified local transportation system within the meaning of, pursuant to the authority of, and subject to, Wis. Stat. § 66.1021.
- (b) The transit commission shall consist of nine commissioners. Included in the membership of the transit commission shall be five City of Racine citizen members and two City of Racine alderpersons, appointed by the mayor, subject to the confirmation of the common council, and two members appointed by the Village of Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin. At the time of appointment, the mayor shall name one of the aldermanic members to serve as chair of the transit commission annually. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner.
- (c) The first members of the transit commission shall be appointed for staggered three-year terms. The term of office of each member appointed after the first members of the transit commission shall be three years. The members of the transit commission shall be appointed effective the first day of June of the year of appointment.

Part 2: Repeal and recreate Chapter 2, Article III, Division 10, Section 2-293, of the Municipal Code of the City of Racine, Wisconsin, as follows:

Sec. 2-293. – Selection of officers.

Each year within 30 days after the time designated in this division for the beginning of terms, the transit commission shall meet and select such officers other than the chair as they may deem necessary.

Part 3: This ordinance shall take effect upon passage by a majority vote of the Common Council and publication or posting as required by law.