

# **City of Racine**

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

# **Meeting Minutes - Draft**

# **Common Council**

Alderman Jeff Coe Alderman Mollie Jones Alderman John Tate II Alderman Tracey Larrin Alderman Steve Smetana Alderman Sandy Weidner Alderman Raymond DeHahn Alderman Q.A. Shakoor II Alderman Terry McCarthy Alderman Terry McCarthy Alderman Dennis Wiser Alderman Mary Land Alderman Henry Perez Alderman James Morgenroth Alderman Jason Meekma Alderman Melissa Lemke

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

7:00 PM

City Hall, Room 205

**New Council** 

# City Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Alderpersons Election from District 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15.

## A. Call To Order

 PRESENT: 14 - Coe, Jones, Tate II, Larrin, Smetana, Weidner, DeHahn, Shakoor II, McCarthy, Wiser, Land, Morgenroth, Meekma and Lemke
EXCUSED: 1 - Perez

## B. Pledge of Allegiance To The Flag

Mayor Dickert led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

## **Election of President of Council**

Alderman Jones nominated Alderman Perez, seconded by Alderman Smetana. Alderman DeHahn nominated Alderman Wiser, seconded by Alderman Morgenroth.

Not hearing any more nominations from the floor, the Mayor closed the nominations. Alderman Wiser spoke on his behalf. Alderman Jones read a letter from Alderman Perez.

Alderman Weidner made a motion to suspend the rules to allow members of the Common Council to speak about the nominations, seconded by Alderman Smetana. The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes: 6- Jones, Larrin, Smetana, Weidner, Meekma, Lemke

Noes: 8- Coe, Tate, DeHahn, Shakoor, McCarthy, Wiser, Land, Morgenroth

Paper ballots were distributed to each member. The votes cast were tallied by City Clerk Johnson-Martin with the following results: Henry Perez-3, Dennis Wiser-11. Alderman Wiser was elected Council President for the 2017-2018 term.

#### **Standing Committee Appointments**

The following Standing Committee appointments were made:

FINANCE AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE Q.A Shakoor II Jim Morgenroth Dennis Wiser Mary Land Henry Perez

PUBLIC WORKS AND SERVICES COMMITTEE Terry McCarthy Jason Meekma Sandy Weidner Mollie Jones John Tate II

PUBLIC SAFETY AND LICENSING COMMITTEE Jeff Coe Ray DeHahn Tracey Larrin Melissa Lemke Steve Smetana

ALDERMAN AT LARGE Jason Meekme

#### Alderpersons Introduce their Family and Friends

Alderpersons from the 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 Districts were given the opportunity to introduce their family and friends.

City Clerk Janice Johnson-Martin introduced her family in the audience.

### C. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 P.M. by Mayor Dickert. The next scheduled meeting of the Council is May 2, 2017.