

City of Racine

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

Meeting Report

Committee of the Whole

President Q.A. Shakoor II
Alderman Jeff Coe
Alderman Mollie Jones
Alderman John Tate II
Alderman Tracey Larrin
Alderman Steve Smetana
Alderman Sandy Weidner
Alderman Raymond DeHahn
Alderman Terry McCarthy
Alderman Mary Land
Alderman Henry Perez
Alderman James Morgenroth
Alderman Jason Meekma
Alderman Melissa Lemke

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

6:15 PM

City Hall, Room 205

935-17

Subject: (Direct Referral) Communication from the City Attorney requesting that the Committee of the Whole select and recommend a date for a Common Council meeting to be held in place of the Common Council meeting scheduled for October 17, 2017.

Recommendation of the Committee of the Whole on 09-20-2017: that the Common Council meet on October 16, 2017 instead of October 17, 2017.

Fiscal Note: N/A

A motion was made by Alderman Meekma, seconded by Alderman Weidner, that this file be Recommended For Approval

660-17

Subject: Communication from the Alderman of the 9th District proposing that the City of Racine consider programs for collecting and disposing yard debris and green or brown waste.

Recommendation of the Committee of the Whole on 08-16-2017: That the Item be deferred.

Recommendation of the Committee of the Whole on 09-20-2017: That a City-wide mini leaf collection service the second full week of each month from May through September, with residents placing their yard waste and properly prepared brush/branches (cut no greater than 4-feet long, no branch greater than 4-inches in diameter, and bundled no greater than 2-feet in diameter with twine or rope) in the gutters of their street.

City of Racine

Fiscal Note: The cost is estimated to be \$100,000 per year, requiring a \$3.70 increase to each residential customer's Recycling Fee and the reassigment of four workers from the Street Maintenance Division for a total of five weeks during the Summer construction season.

A motion was made by Alderman McCarthy, seconded by Alderman Coe, that this Communication be Recommended For Approval. The motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: 8 - Jeff Coe, John Tate II, Raymond DeHahn, Terry McCarthy, Mary Land, James Morgenroth, Jason Meekma and Melissa Lemke

NOES: 5 - Mollie Jones, Tracey Larrin, Steve Smetana, Sandy Weidner and Henry Perez

City of Racine Page 2