

City of Racine

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

Meeting Minutes - Final

Common Council

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 7:00 PM City Hall, Room 205

New Council

Assistant City Clerk administers the Oath of Office to the Alderpersons Elect from Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14 and the Municipal Judge

A. Call To Order

PRESENT: 14 - Jones, Tate II, Larrin, Smetana, Weidner, DeHahn, Shakoor II, McCarthy,

Glenn, Land, Perez, Morgenroth, Meekma and Lemke

EXCUSED: 1 - Coe

B. Pledge of Allegiance To The Flag

Mayor Mason led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

C. Election of President of Council

Alderman McCarthy nominated Alderman Meekma, seconded by Alderman Tate II.

Not hearing any more nominations from the floor, the Mayor closed the nominations. Alderman Meekma spoke on his behalf.

Paper ballots were distributed to each member. The votes cast were tallied by Assistant City Clerk McMenamin with the following results: Jason Meekma 14. Alderman Meekma was elected Council President for the 2018-2019 term.

D. Standing Committee Appointments

The following Standing Committee appointments were made:

FINANCE AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE Q.A. Shakoor II

Terry McCarthy Jason Meekma Tracey Larrin Mary Land

PUBLIC WORKS AND SERVICES COMMITTEE

John Tate II Mollie Jones Henry Perez James Morgenroth

City of Racine Page 1

Melissa Lemke

PUBLIC SAFETY AND LICENSING COMMITTEE
Jeff Coe
Steve Smetana
Sandy Weidner
Carrie Glenn
Raymond DeHahn

E. New Elected Alderpersons and Municipal Judge Introduce their Family and Friends in Attendance

Alderpersons from the 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 14 Districts were given the opportunity to introduce their family and friends.

F. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 7:23 P.M. by Mayor Mason. The next scheduled meeting of the Council is May 1, 2018.

City of Racine Page 2