

City of Racine

City Hall 730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

Meeting Minutes - Final

Common Council

Alder Jeff Coe
Alder Mollie Jones
Alder John Tate II
Alder Edwin Santiago Jr
Alder Melissa Kaprelian
Alder Jeffrey Peterson
Alder Maurice Horton
Alder Marcus West
Alder Trevor Jung
Alder Sam Peete
Alder CJ Rouse
Alder Henry Perez
Alder Natalia Taft
Alder Jason Meekma
Alder Melissa Lemke

Tuesday, April 20, 2021 7:00 PM Virtual

New Council

A. Call to Order

PRESENT: 15 - Coe, Jones, Tate II, Santiago Jr, Kaprelian, Peterson, Horton, West, Jung, Peete, Rouse, Perez, Taft, Meekma and Lemke

B. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

Mayor Mason led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

- C. Clerk's Office Administers Oath of Office to Newly Elected Alders
- D. Newly Elected Alders Recognition of Family and Friends
- E. Election of Council President

Mayor Mason presided over the Council for the vote for Council President.

Alder Jung made a motion to nominate Alder Tate II for Council President, Seconded by Alder Taft.

Mayor Mason closed the nomination for Council President.

Mayor Mason opened the floor to elect a new Council President.

The Results of the election is as follows:

Alder Tate:15 - Coe, Jones, Tate II, Santiago, Kaprelian, Peterson, Horton,

City of Racine Page 1

West, Jung, Peete, Rouse, Perez, Taft, Meekma, Lemke

Alder Tate II was elected Council President, Unanimously.

F. Standing Committee Appointments

The Committee appointments are as follows:

Finance and Personnel: Alder Taft, Alder West, Alder Peete, Alder Meekma, and Alder Tate II

Public Works and Services: Alder Jones, Alder Jung, Alder Lemke, Alder Santiago, and

Alder Rouse

Public Safety and Licensing: Alder Coe, Alder Horton, Alder Perez, Alder Peterson, and Alder Kaprelian

Executive Committee: Mayor Mason, Alder Tate II, Alder Taft, Alder Jones, Alder Coe, and Alder Jung

G. Communications

0289-21

Subject: Communication sponsored by Mayor Mason appointing the following:

Carmen Lassiter Ayers to the Affirmative Action and Human Rights Committee expiring April 30, 2024

Dasheika Kidd to the Affirmative Action and Human Rights Committee expiring April 30, 2024

Jim Poplawski to the Harbor Commission expiring April 30, 2024 Novella Velasquez to Parks Recreation and Cultural Services expiring April 30, 2024

Vevlon Days-Kimmons to the Due Process Board expiring May 15, 2023 Jeffrey Thomas to the Community Development Authority expiring April 30, 2025

Alder Lemke to the Board of Health in the position of Alder expiring April 30, 2023

Alder Jung to the Transit Commission expiring April 17, 2023

David Younk to the Sex Offender Residency Board expiring April 30, 2024

Alder Jung to Planning Heritage and Design Board expiring April 30, 2024

Keith Hemmig to Parks Recreation and Cultural Services expiring April 30, 2024

William Martin in the position of Chair for the Community Development Authority, Chair Delegation expiring April 30, 2022

Mohammed Raafiullah to Board of Health expiring April 30, 2023 Alder Jones to Transit Commission expiring April 30, 2024

Jen Adamski in the position of Vice Chair for the Community
Development Authority, Chair Designation expiring April 30, 2022
Alder Jung in the position of Chair for the Transit Committee, Chair
Designation expiring April 30, 2022
Alder Lemke to Parks Recreation and Cultural Services expiring April 17, 2022

A motion was made Alder Santiago, seconded by Alder Taft, that this Communication be Approved. The motion Passed by the following vote

AYES: 15 - Coe, Jones, Tate II, Santiago Jr, Kaprelian, Peterson, Horton, West, Jung, Peete, Rouse, Perez, Taft, Meekma and Lemke

H. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 7:38 pm by Alder West.

The next scheduled meeting of the Committee Council is Tuesday, May 4, 2021.

ATTEST: TARA COOLIDGE CITY CLERK

City of Racine Page 3