

# **City of Racine**

# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

## **Common Council**

Alder Jeff Coe Alder Mollie Jones Alder John Tate II Alder Edwin Santiago Jr Alder Melissa Kaprelian Alder Melissa Kaprelian Alder Maurice Horton Alder Maurice Horton Alder Marcus West Alder Terry McCarthy Alder Sam Peete Alder CJ Rouse Alder CJ Rouse Alder Henry Perez Alder Natalia Taft Alder Jason Meekma Alder Melissa Lemke

Thursday, October 14, 2021

7:00 PM

Virtual

City Hall

730 Washington Ave. Racine, WI 53403 www.cityofracine.org

### **Special Common Council**

### **Public Registration Link:**

### https://cityofracine-org.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN\_Do4lz3s8RZ6oD2cDbh8iPQ

### A. Call To Order

PRESENT: 14 - Coe, Jones, Tate II, Santiago Jr, Kaprelian, Peterson, Horton, West, Peete, Rouse, Perez, Taft, Meekma and Lemke
EXCUSED: 1 - McCarthy

### B. Pledge of Allegiance To The Flag

Mayor Mason led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

### C. Public Comments

There were no virtual appearances for Public Comment.

### D. Committee Reports

### Ad-Hoc Redistricting Committee, by Ald. Tate II

0832-21 **Subject:** Communication sponsored by Alder Tate II recommending the following ward map(s) be adopted and submitted to Racine County in

accordance with Section 5.15 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

#### Recommendation of the Ad-Hoc Redistricting Committee on

**10-13-2021:** That the ward map proposed by Alder of the 14th District be Approved and that the Common Council President, City Administrator, and City Attorney represent the City in the redistricting reconciliation process with Racine County.

### Fiscal Note: N/A

A motion was made by Alder Tate II, seconded by Alder Santiago Jr, that this Communication be Denied. The motion PASSED by the following vote:

- AYES: 13 Jones, Tate II, Santiago Jr, Kaprelian, Peterson, Horton, West, Peete, Rouse, Perez, Taft, Meekma and Lemke
- NOES: 1 Coe
- **EXCUSED:** 1 McCarthy

A motion was made by Alder Tate II, seconded by Alder Jones, that the ward map proposed by Alder of the 3rd District be Approved and that the Common Council President, Alder of the 14th District, City Attorney, and City Administrator represent the City in the redistricting reconciliation process with Racine County.The motion PASSED by the following vote:

- AYES: 9 Jones, Tate II, Santiago Jr, Peterson, Horton, West, Peete, Taft and Meekma
- NOES: 5 Coe, Kaprelian, Rouse, Perez and Lemke
- EXCUSED: 1 McCarthy

### E. Common Council Announcements

Announcements are limited to recognition of City residents and employees, memorials, and non-political community events. Discussion of matters related to governmental business is prohibited.

F. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 PM by Alder West. The next scheduled meeting of the Council is Tuesday, October 19, 2021..

ATTEST: TARA COOLIDGE CITY CLERK